Greg White – County Councillor

Elected 2022 for Kirkbymoorside & Dales


Kevin Hollinrake MP

Thirsk & Malton – Elected May 2015 –

Phone: 01653 916417


John Stockton Educational Foundation

John Stockton, a yeoman farmer, died in 1841 and left a sum of money in trust for the purpose of putting children to school to be taught and instructed in reading, writing and arithmetic in specific ‘townships’. Here we are some 180 years later still administering the Trust but moving on with the times and using a revised scheme dated 1958. Today the Foundation gives grants to students, usually at degree level, and to apprentices, and covers the purchase of such items as relevant books, stationery, equipment, fees and tools. To qualify applicants must have lived in the parishes listed below for a period of not less than two years and be under 25 years of age. Kirkbymoorside, Beadlam, Nawton, Welburn and Wombleton, Gillamoor, Fadmoor, Aislaby, Middleton, Wrelton, Cropton, Harome, Pockley, Appleton-le-Moors, Lastingham, Spaunton, Hutton-le-Hole, Farndale, Normanby and Barughs Ambo, Great Edstone and Thornton Riseborough, Thornton Dale and Wilton. Governors meet twice a year to consider applications. A simple application form is available on request.

Please go to the heading Contact to leave a message.

Car Park

The CAR PARK is situated off the turning to Lastingham YO62 6UB Ref SE 705 901 For charges please visit the NYMNPA Website:

PARKING on GRASSED AREAS, including Verges, in the village is NOT permitted.———————————————-

The PUBLIC TOILETS, at the car park, are open (7am -8.30pm)